Chakras energy center guide |

Learn about chakras, the energy centers in your body which affect your health, emotional well-being and relationships. Discover the 7 main energy wheels in the body, and the importance of keeping them open and balanced.

What Are Chakras?

Chakra is Sanskrit (ancient Indo-Aryan language) for ‘wheel’. In Hindu and Buddhist literature the chakras are thought to be energy vortices, shaped like petals or spoked wheels, that whirl at various speeds.

They penetrate the body and the body’s aura, and through them various energies, including the universal life force, are received and distributed throughout the person. You cannot see chakras physically, only clairvoyantly.

There are seven major charka’s and hundreds of minor ones. The universal life force is thought to enter the aura through the chakra at the top of the head and filter down along the spinal column to the other chakras. The higher the position on the spinal column the more complex the chakra.

The 7 Major Chakras

Chart of the 7 Chakras |

Each chakra effects a different part of the body, so you can focus directly on one specific chakra if you need healing in that area. The 7 chakra centers are:

1. Red: The base or root chakra (muladara)

The lowest of the seven chakras, the root chakra is located at the base of the spine and is the simplest of the seven. Red in colour, it relates to physical strength as well as the senses of taste and smell. You can summon this chakra when you need courage and physical strength. It is in the base chakra that kundalini (sexual) energy is stored in a coiled state of readiness.

2.Orange: The sacral chakra (svadishana)

This chakra is orange colour and is located just below the navel. It controls sexual energy and reproduction. It influences the release of adrenaline in your body and can keep it on a high state of alert. You can summon this chakra not only when you need to invoke fertility but also when you need projects and relationships to be successful. In some psychic systems the sacral chakra is overseen by the spleen chakra, which governs digestion.

3. Yellow:The solar plexus chakra (manipura)

Located below the breastbone and above the navel, the solar plexus chakra is where mediums get their psychic information. Yellow in colour, it controls the adrenal glands, and when it is out of balance it can affect the stomach, liver and pancreas. You can use this chakra when you want to achieve an ambition or when you are planning a career move.

4. Green/Pink: The heart chakra (anahata)

Located in the centre of the chest and in the middle of your shoulder blades, the heart chakra is green in colour and relates to emotions such as love and compassion. If it becomes blocked it can affect the lungs, the heart and breathing and immunity in general. You can use this chakra for matters of love and friendship and for understanding others. Personally, I find an open heart chakra is important for practicing psychometry. That is, a form of extrasensory percerption which involves the holding of objects like a ring or watch, and receiving psychic information about their owners or history.

5. Blue: The throat chakra (visudda)

Located at the top of the throat, the throat chakra is silvery blue in colour and relates to creativity and self-expression. It is prominent in musicians, singers and public speakers. When it becomes blocked, your throat, ears, eyes, nose and mouth may be affected. You can use this chakra when truth and principles are at stake.

6. Purple: The third eye chakra (ajna)

Located between your eyebrows in the centre of your forehead, the third eye chakra is blue/purple in colour and relates to your pituitary gland. It influences intelligence, intuition and psychic ability (it needs to be open for clairvoyance and psychic readings). When it becomes blocked it can cause headaches and vision problems. You can use this chakra for psychic awareness and harmony.

7. Indigo Purple:The crown chakra (sahasrara)

Located at the top of your head, the crown chakra is a glowing purple colour and will not open until all other chakras are balanced. When it is open you experience the highest connection to the universal mind by your mental, physical and spiritual self. You can use this chakra when practicing mediumship.

Healing With Chakras

Chakras are connected to each other through thousands of channels of energy called nadis. Three of the most important nadis include the sushuma, which processes energy coming in, and the ida and pingala, which are concerned with the outflow of energy.

While there isn’t any accepted scientific and medical evidence that chakras exist, recently they have begun to be acknowledged in the West in alternative medicine.

Clairvoyants can diagnose the health of chakras by energy scans with the hands. Health problems often show up in chakras months or even years before they manifest in the body. When the chakras are balanced and healthy, their colours are clear and their rotation smooth, but in poor health they become cloudy and irregular in rotation.

Blocked chakras are thought to cause health problems, and in alternative healing therapies there are various techniques for clearing chakra blockages, including visualization, colour therapy, energy healing, reflexology and acupuncture.

Are you blocked? Take the Chakra Blockage Test now to find out!

How Chakras Affect Your Relationships

If you have auric vision you can see chakras. Chakras appear as soft, swirling colours of light merging into one another, and sometimes spinning in a specific direction.

Everyone has a natural direction or spin to their chakra energies – either clockwise or anticlockwise. Whatever others may say, there is no right or wrong direction.

This is a fluid situation and many factors can cause the natural spin to reverse temporarily. When the seven major chakras are harmoniously balanced, they alternate in their direction of spin from the Base Chakra upward. This is an ideal situation to work toward, using balancing exercises.

All chakras exert an attracting or repelling action, according to their direction. A clockwise chakra attracts an anticlockwise chakra, and vice versa. This is why we sometimes feel repelled by someone for no apparent reason – their subtle energies are just not in synchronization with ours.

On the other hand, we are also drawn to some people as if they are an ‘energy magnet’. This isn’t surprising when we learn more about the chakras, for even our choice of sexual partner is affected by them.

We give off ‘vibes’ – energy messages – through our chakras to attract a partner. During lovemaking a chakra ideally aligns with another of the opposite directional spin. So by balancing our chakras we are more likely to attract partners who are destined to enhance our auric energy field.

In the future, perhaps we will realize harmony in relationships and families is intrinsically linked to maintaining vibrant energy fields.

Share This Article

Karina, author of Tarot in 5 Minutes.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap